Starting my EDUC 4151 Learning Journey

My learning journey continues as I am about to learn how to design and develop interactive elearning in my EDUC 4151 course. I know this journey will also not be a straight path as I seem to deviate often as I discover new sources of information, like my previous post about LIVES. I actually owned two goats as pets and my children loved hanging out with them and playing “King of the Castle”. Goats always like to be at the highest point. Maybe that is why our learning never seems to stop because we are always trying to reach the highest point but as we get there, a new higher point has been discovered.

This blog is my first experience with blogging.  My impression of blogging was just a chat site. A place to voice your thoughts, especially by singers and movie stars. I lacked the interest to even take a peek at a blog. The first blog that I ever read was of a fellow classmate in an online course. It was not part of the coursework, she just loved to blog and had already established a blogging habit. I enjoyed her humour and her writing style. Sadly her dear mentor, writer friend who had encouraged her to start the blog recently passed away and she has decided to end her blog. Her blog address for those interested in reading about clothing is. http://dorivandaelle.com/ 

This event really showed me how much of ourselves we give when we write blog posts. Even though we might be posting about our learning journey we are opening our insights and our feelings about what we learn. Since creating this blog I have seen how quickly our thoughts come out and we express the meaning we attach to our learning. I have also noticed that by verbalizing in written form the information becomes more solidly imbedded in our minds. I’m also more aware of information that is meaningful to me. Since starting the blog my attitude to learning has become more insightful. WordPress was the perfect platform to start my blogging journey because the site is clearly laid out with a user friendly interface. I’m sure I have not even scratched the surface of the possibilities here but I’m learning as I go. It’s a pity though that the free version does not accommodate podcast inserts, however adding the web-link at least allows the reader to access the podcast on the website.

My goal with the continuation of this blog is to deepen my understanding of learning and what I can do to provide a suitable elearning environment. My perception of learning and my attitude to the learners and the environment will hopefully continue to develop from the facts and research that I experience.  I also hope to continue to develop my resources and my techno tools so that when I’m ready to create my first course I will have access to the tools I need. I noticed that Edublogs has some interesting tools for teaching. Take a look at Lisa Nielsen’s blog. http://theinnovativeeducator.blogspot.ca/ Lisa Nielsen is the author of  “Teaching Generation Text: Using Cell Phones to Enhance Learning.” The foreword is given by Marc Prensky. Although this book is intended for high school, many of the methods can be incorporated into post secondary learning.

 

About Karin Potgieter

Originally from South Africa, I have been privileged to enjoy the beautiful lifestyle of Canada. My career in Early Childhood Education has been motivating, ranging from the endearing relationships with the children and families of the Preschool that I owned to the inspirational interactions with my students as instructor of the Early Childhood Education Certificate Program. My qualifications include a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology, Early Childhood Education Certificate, Provincial Instructors Diploma and en route to completing the Certificate in Online/eLearning Instruction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

